In The News

Scientific American: Stiffer Roads Could Drive Down Carbon Emissions
Mon, 06/22/2020
Even as a truck drives on a level road, it is, in a sense, still traveling uphill. That’s because...
MIT Researchers have found that stiffer pavements reduce transportation emissions
MIT News: Stiffer Roads Could Improve Truck Fuel Efficiency
Thu, 06/11/2020
Though roads may seem rigid beneath one’s feet, under the weight of a truck they are quite pliant....
The Hill: America's Roads Are Crumbling, But We Can Make Them Sustainable
Fri, 06/05/2020
In this opinion piece in The Hill, CSHub's Executive Director Jeremy Gregory explains how past...
Passive houses and zero-energy buildings may be cheaper to build.
Research Brief: Affordability of Passive Houses and Zero-Energy Buildings
Tue, 05/19/2020
Developed in the 1970s, the passive house standard dramatically reduces a building’s energy...
Concrete and cement are heavily used, but many don't know the difference between the two
MIT News: Cement vs. concrete
Fri, 04/03/2020
After water, concrete is the most consumed material on Earth. Yet, many don't know the difference...
Hurricane over the ocean
MIT News: Discerning the Texture of Urban Resilience
Wed, 04/01/2020
Researchers at the Hub are studying the connection between urban layouts and hazard losses. They've...
Video: City Texture
Thu, 03/19/2020
Hurricanes are the most damaging of natural disasters: since 1980, they have inflicted nearly $1...
Urban Canyon Credit: Minesweeper / Creative Commons
Topic Summary: City Texture and Urban Resilience
Thu, 03/12/2020
To protect buildings and their occupants from hazards like hurricanes, governments implement...
CSHub Annual Report
Wed, 03/04/2020
With mentions in national media outlets like USA Today and publications in high impact journals...
Science Friday: Degrees of Change
Fri, 02/28/2020
In a segment of Science Friday, program host Ira Flatow discussed sustainable construction with a...