In The News

Research Brief: Modeling the Freeze-Thaw Damage Mechanism in Cement
Wed, 01/30/2019
In our latest research brief, we propose a new way to understand the cause of freeze-thaw damage in...
CSHub Presents Research at the Transportation Research Board's Annual Meeting
Thu, 01/17/2019
CSHub traveled to Washington D.C. to attend the Transportation Research Board's 98th Annual Meeting...
The Roanoke Times: An Easy Way to Cut Emissions on I-81
Fri, 01/04/2019
CSHub Executive Director Jeremy Gregory penned an op-ed in The Roanoke Times about reducing carbon...
MIT News: Studying pavement from a marathon runner's perspective
Wed, 12/26/2018
Thomas Petersen is an avid marathoner who also happens to study pavement at CSHub. In this piece,...
Tallahassee Democrat: Smarter Rebuilding in Hurricane Zones
Tue, 11/27/2018
Hurricane Michael, a Category 4 storm, broke records as it made landfall on Florida’s panhandle....
MIT News: "Software tool could help architects design efficient buildings"
Fri, 11/16/2018
MIT News spoke with CSHub Principal Investigators Franz-Josef Ulm and Randolph Kirchain about an...
CSHub Presents at the National Disaster Resilience Conference
Wed, 11/14/2018
CSHub researchers traveled to Clearwater Beach, Florida to present at the National Disaster...
Research Brief: Creating Customized Fragility Curves for Resilient Building
Tue, 11/13/2018
Fragility curves measure the probability of exceeding a certain level of structural damage due to...
Research Brief: The Influence of Incorporating Uncertainties and Treatment Path Dependence in Performance-based Planning Analyses
Fri, 11/09/2018
With low funding and high backlogs for repair, state agencies must effectively allocate budgets for...
Mother Jones: Weathering the Next Florence
Wed, 11/07/2018
In the aftermath of Hurricane Florence, the magazine Mother Jones published a piece from its...