In The News

Topic Summary: Context Dependent Pavement Life Cycle Analysis
Wed, 07/17/2019
While it is commonly believed that the environmental footprint of pavements derives only from their...
Research Brief: Meeting Greenhouse Gas Reduction Targets in the Buildings Sector
Thu, 07/04/2019
The buildings sector is one of the highest emitting sectors of the global economy, consuming 40% of...
MIT News: An Atomic-scale Erector Set
Wed, 07/03/2019
In an article in MIT News, CSHub researcher Kostas Keremidis describes his work simulating disaster...
International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology 2019
Thu, 06/27/2019
From June 25–28, CSHub researchers attended the International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and...
Embodied Carbon in Buildings Conference
Tue, 06/04/2019
On May 31, CSHub Executive Director Jeremy Gregory spoke at the Embodied Carbon in Buildings...
Topic Summary: Urban Heat Islands
Mon, 06/03/2019
The urban heat island (UHI) effect is the phenomenon by which cities experience higher temperatures...
MIT News: Paving Sustainably
Thu, 05/23/2019
In a paper published in the Journal of Cleaner Production, CSHub researchers examine the use phase...
Research Brief: Generating Building-specific Fragility Curves
Fri, 05/17/2019
Fragility curves are a statistical tool that represents a building’s likelihood of damage under a...
MIT News: Exploring the effects of moisture and drying on cement
Tue, 05/07/2019
A highly porous material, cement tends to absorb water from precipitation and even ambient humidity...
Research Brief: Simulating the Formation of ASR Gels
Wed, 04/24/2019
Alkali-silica-reaction (ASR) is a significant cause of premature concrete deterioration. While it...